Chippewa County

01 - 18

Ord. 08 - 17: Ordinance to Amend Section 58-39 of the Ordinances to Add ATV Route on County Highway E (Second Reading)


Department:Corporation Counsel DivisionSponsors:

Financial Impact

There is no fiscal impact to Chippewa County by passage of this ordinance amendment.

ORD/RES Printout

1.              That Sec. 58-39 is amended as follows:

Sec. 58-39. Designating All-Terrain Vehicle Routes


(a) Intent. The County of Chippewa adopts the following all-terrain vehicle (ATV) routes for the operation of ATV’s upon the County highways listed in subsection (c). Following due Chippewa County Code of Ordinances Chapter 58 - Traffic & Vehicles September 9, 2014 Page 18 of 20

consideration of the recreational value to connect trail opportunities and weighted against possible dangers, public health, liability aspects, terrain involved, traffic density and history of automobile traffic, these routes have been created.


(b) Statutory Authority. These routes are created pursuant to § 23.33(8)(b), Wis. Stats. In addition, the provisions of § 23.33, Wis. Stats., and the provisions of Wisconsin Administrative Code NR 64 regulating ATV operation are hereby adopted.


(c) Routes. The following described County highways are designated as ATV routes:

(1) Town of Eagle Point, County Highway Y from 155th Street west to 145th Street.

(2) Town of Anson, County Highway Y from 143rd Avenue west across the Jim Falls Bridge.

(3) Town of Anson, County Highway K from 150th Avenue north to 152nd Avenue.

(4) Town of Anson, County Highway K from 107th Avenue north to 108th Avenue.

(5) Town of Anson, County Highway S from a point 1/10 of a mile west of 220th Street east to 220th Street.

(6) Town of Lake Holcombe and Town of Birch Creek, County Highway M from State Highway 27 west to the ATV parking lot.

(7) Town of Ruby, County Highway M from 275th Avenue north and west to County Highway G.

(8) Town of Ruby, County Highway G from County Highway M north to 310th Avenue.

(9) Town of Ruby, County Highway VV, ½ mile segment to connect 290th Avenue east to west.

(10) Town of Sampson, County Highway M from 152nd Street east .75 miles to 160th Street.

(11) Town of Ruby, County Highway G from Buckhorn Trail 2.25 miles south to State Highway 64.

(12) Towns of Anson and Arthur, County Highway K from 152nd Avenue 1.75 miles north to 170th Avenue.

(13) Town of Anson, County Highway K from 127th Avenue east 275 feet to 220th Street.

(14) Town of Arthur, County Highway S, ½ mile segment to connect 270th Street north to south.

(15) Town of Anson, County Highway S from trail 1.25 miles west of County Highway K to County Highway K.

(16) Town of Anson, County Highway K from County Highway S to trail, 0.3 miles north.             

(17) Town of Delmar, County Highway D from 125th Avenue to 130th Avenue.

(18) Town of Cleveland, County Highway E from 245th Avenue to trail, 0.8 miles south.


(d) Annual Reviews of ATV Routes. All ATV routes established pursuant to this ordinance shall be reviewed annually by the Chippewa County Executive Committee or a designated subunit of that committee to consider the continued value, efficacy or need for the ATV routes or the inclusion of additional ATV routes, all pursuant to the intent of this ordinance.


2.              That this ordinance amendment shall take effect upon passage and publication.

Forwarded to the County Board by the Executive Committee.


Meeting History

Dec 5, 2017 4:00 PM  Executive Committee Regular Meeting

Sherman explained there were four routes originally considered and this is the route the Highway Committee selected to bring forward. This will connect existing trails.

MOVER:Jared Zwiefelhofer, District 4
SECONDER:Florian Skwierczynski, District 11 (Vice-Chair)
AYES:Anson Albarado, Florian Skwierczynski, Jared Zwiefelhofer
ABSENT:Glen Sikorski, Steve Gerrish
Dec 12, 2017 6:00 PM  County Board Regular Meeting
Jan 9, 2018 6:00 PM  County Board Regular Meeting
draft Draft

Motion made by Supervisor Gullickson

Second made by Supervisor Bergeron

Ordinance Approved - 15 Yes's, 0 No's - all Supervisors voted yes

MOVER:Dean Gullickson, District 7
SECONDER:Jason Bergeron, District 6
AYES:Anson Albarado, Florian Skwierczynski, Harold Steele, Glen Sikorski, Matthew Hartman, Jared Zwiefelhofer, Tom Thornton, Jason Bergeron, Dean Gullickson, Lawrence J. Willkom, Steve Gerrish, Kari Ives, Annette Hunt, Chuck Hull, Leigh Darrow