Chippewa County

59 - 17

Res. 59 - 17: Resolution to Approve Extension of the Chippewa Valley Regional Airport Ownership and Operation Agreement


Department:Corporation Counsel DivisionSponsors:

Financial Impact

Chippewa County's annual contributions to the Operations of the Chippewa Valley Regional Airport are set below. The annual contributions will be paid from the sales tax fund. 2019 - $130,271 2020 - $130,271 2021 - $131,574 2022 - $131,574 2023 - $132,890

ORD/RES Printout

              WHEREAS, it is vital to economic development in the Chippewa Valley that the Chippewa Valley Regional Airport continue to thrive and prosper and financial assistance from Chippewa County will help to maintain and improve the competitiveness and efficiency of the airport operation; and


WHEREAS, since January 1, 1999, the Chippewa Valley Regional Airport has been jointly operated by Eau Claire and Chippewa Counties pursuant to the CHIPPEWA VALLEY REGIONAL AIRPORT OWNERSHIP AND OPERATION AGREEMENT; and


WHEREAS, Eau Claire and Chippewa Counties have entered into and operated under four successive five (5) year airport operation agreements since January 1, 1999; and


              WHEREAS, the current CHIPPEWA VALLEY REGIONAL AIRPORT OWNERSHIP AND OPERATION AGREEMENT is due to expire on December 31, 2018; and


WHEREAS, a successor CHIPPEWA VALLEY REGIONAL AIRPORT OWNERSHIP AND OPERATION AGREEMENT, a copy of which is attached hereto, has been negotiated by representatives of Eau Claire and Chippewa Counties with the following material terms:


1.              Term of Agreement - 5 years.

2.              Annual funding and participation - Eau Claire and Chippewa County will contribute base amounts equivalent to their 2018 contributions in 2019 and 2020 plus a 1% increase in 2021, no increase in 2022, and an additional 1% increase in 2023. 

3.              Commission membership - 7 members.  The Eau Claire County Board Chair shall appoint 1 county board supervisor, 3 citizen members and the Chippewa County Board Chair shall appoint 1 county board supervisor and 2 citizen members.  The periods of appointment are 2 years and are staggered so that no more than 4 appointments will be made in any 1-year.

4.              Ownership - Eau Claire County will retain ownership of the airport and Chippewa County will retain an option to purchase an ownership interest that may be exercised during the specified time period.


NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Chippewa County Board of Supervisors does hereby approve the attached CHIPPEWA VALLEY REGIONAL AIRPORT OWNERSHIP AND OPERATION AGREEMENT commencing on January 1, 2019; and


BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the County Board Chair and the County Clerk are hereby authorized to execute the Agreement on behalf of Chippewa County.


              Forwarded to the County Board by the Executive Committee.




Meeting History

Dec 5, 2017 4:00 PM  Executive Committee Regular Meeting

Pascarella met with Charity and the Eau Claire County Administrator to discuss extending the contract. There are no language changes from the last contract. For 2019 and 2020 there is no funding increase. In 2021 there is an increase of 1% and then again in 2023 it will increase by 1%. Based on funding and the fact that there have been no major complaints or concerns it was determined to bring this forward at this time to extend the agreement. Eau Claire County has approved this agreement with their committee and their County Board will vote on it this month as well. Charity stated the current agreement runs through 2018. The money from this agreement is used 100% for capital and their capital budget is due in 2018 for 2019 so that’s why this is being addressed at this time. They maintain a 5-year capital plan they share with the FAA.

MOVER:Jared Zwiefelhofer, District 4
SECONDER:Florian Skwierczynski, District 11 (Vice-Chair)
AYES:Anson Albarado, Florian Skwierczynski, Jared Zwiefelhofer
ABSENT:Glen Sikorski, Steve Gerrish
Dec 12, 2017 6:00 PM  County Board Regular Meeting

Res. 59 - 17 passed

Motion by Supervisor Thornton

Second by Supervisor Hunt

14 Yes's, 0 No's

Charity Zich, Airport Director, answered questions.

MOVER:Tom Thornton, District 5
SECONDER:Annette Hunt, District 13
AYES:Anson Albarado, Florian Skwierczynski, Harold Steele, Glen Sikorski, Matthew Hartman, Jared Zwiefelhofer, Tom Thornton, Jason Bergeron, Dean Gullickson, Lawrence J. Willkom, Steve Gerrish, Kari Ives, Annette Hunt, Chuck Hull
ABSENT:Leigh Darrow