Chippewa County

57 - 17

Res. 57 - 17: Resolution to Authorize the Chippewa County Department of Human Services to Join the Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Partnership


Department:Corporation Counsel DivisionSponsors:


  1. Printout

Financial Impact

The estimated fiscal impact for 2018 is $158,775 to come from a mix of Federal and State funding sources as well as tax levy. These funds are budgeted for 2018 to cover the access and screening services required of DHS.

ORD/RES Printout

WHEREAS, pursuant to Wis. Stats. § 48.01, certain duties and responsibilities related to the administration of child abuse and neglect services are delegated to counties; and


              WHEREAS, pursuant to Wis. Stats. § 48.981(3), the Chippewa County Department of Human Services (DHS) is required to develop and implement a comprehensive strategy to investigate reports of child abuse and neglect to include the following:

·              Receiving reports alleging child abuse and neglect

·              Making the decision whether to intervene in an alleged incident of child abuse or neglect

·              Conducting an assessment of the allegations of abuse or neglect

·              Serving those children in greatest need of protection and services; and


                      WHEREAS, it is the intent of the Chippewa County DHS to join three other counties, Monroe, Pepin and Taylor Counties, in the Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Partnership (CAN Partnership); and


              WHEREAS, the charge of the CAN Partnership is to provide consistent, timely, and exceptional access and screening of reports of child abuse and neglect within the four county partnership; and


              WHEREAS, the mission of the CAN Partnership will be to provide a consistent response to screening decisions, adequate and responsive staff coverage, fair and sustainable funding, skilled operational oversight, and an infrastructure that allows for future expansion; and 


     WHEREAS, on May 22, 2017, Governor Scott Walker granted legal authority, written into the State of Wisconsin 2017-2019 state budget, granting counties the option of entering into agreements that allow for multi-county child abuse and neglect access and screening services; and 


     WHEREAS, the intent of this Resolution is to authorize the County Administrator and DHS Director to enter into any and all contracts or other documents necessary to create, form, authorize, and/or operate the partnership;


              NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Chippewa County Board of Supervisors does hereby declare its intent to join the CAN Partnership for child welfare access and screening services and authorizes the County Administrator and DHS Director to take all steps necessary to create, form, authorize and/or operate the CAN Partnership; and


              BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the County Administrator and DHS Director are authorized to take any other actions necessary to effectuate the intent of this Resolution.


              Forwarded to the County Board by the Health and Human Services Board.


Meeting History

Nov 16, 2017 7:45 AM  Health & Human Services Board Regular Meeting

Winter provided information on the history, purpose, process, and benefits/efficiencies of a multi-county partnership for Child Abuse and Neglect (CAN) reporting via authorization of this resolution. Chippewa County will form a CAN Partnership with Monroe, Pepin, and Taylor Counties for child welfare access and screening. Winter also stated there is a procedure written into the governance for other counties to join in the future. Additional discussion by board members regarding this process and how it would work.

MOVER:John Halbleib, Citizen Rep (Vice-Chair)
SECONDER:Larry Marquardt, Citizen Rep
AYES:Lawrence J. Willkom, John Halbleib, Harold Steele, Matthew Hartman, Tom Thornton, Anson Albarado, Larry Marquardt, Laura Isaacson, Nicole Rubenzer
Dec 12, 2017 6:00 PM  County Board Regular Meeting

Res. 57 - 17 passed.

Motion by Supervisor Willkom

Second by Supervisor Ives

14 Yes's, 0 No's

Human Services Director Larry Winter gave summary of resolution

MOVER:Lawrence J. Willkom, District 9
SECONDER:Kari Ives, District 12
AYES:Anson Albarado, Florian Skwierczynski, Harold Steele, Glen Sikorski, Matthew Hartman, Jared Zwiefelhofer, Tom Thornton, Jason Bergeron, Dean Gullickson, Lawrence J. Willkom, Steve Gerrish, Kari Ives, Annette Hunt, Chuck Hull
ABSENT:Leigh Darrow